Past Visiting Scholars

The Oxford Centre for European History has proudly hosted scholars from around the world as part of the Visiting Scholars Program. With a variety of research interests and backgrounds, the Centre celebrates diversity in research while promoting academic excellence. Below are a few of the scholars we have welcomed to Oxford. If you would like to join their numbers, please see the Become a Visiting Scholar page of our website.



Dr Alexa Stiller, University of Bern, Switzerland

Dr Wendy Wiertz, KU Leuven, Belgium



Dr Alessandro Saluppo, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Kerstin Weiand, Philipps University, Marburg, Germany

Dr Ana Valdez, University of Évora, Portugal

Dr Ingrid J J De Zwarte, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Mara Donato Di Paola, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Dr Marie Houllemare, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France

Dr Ronald Kroeze, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Dr Benjamin Möckel, Universität zu Köln, Germany

Dr Tobias Straumann, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Dr Ian Tregenza, Macquarie University, Australia

Prof Jeppe Nevers, University of Southern Denmark

Dr Francisco Malta Romeiras, University of Lisbon, Portugal



Dr Ana Valdez, University of Évora, Portugal

Dr Stuart Sweeney, Independent Scholar

Clément Claret, Sciences Po - Centred'Études Européennes, France



Dr Robert Saunders, Queen Mary University of London 

Prof Taku Eriguchi, Seinan Gakuin University, Japan

Dr Xu Zhiqiang, Yangzhou University, China

Dr Andrea Franc, University of Basel, Switzerland

Prof Giulia Albanese, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Vittoria Feola, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Steven L.B. Jensen, Danish Institute for Human Rights, Denmark 

Prof Renee Poznanski, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Dr Andrew Buchanan, University of Vermont, USA

Dr Einar Wigen, University of Oslo, Norway

Dr Eric Storm, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Dr Søren Feldtfos Thomsen, Aarhus University, Denmark

Dr Doron Avraham, Bar Ilan University, Israel

Dr Yaacov Falkov, Tel-Aviv University, Israel



Prof Paul Shore, University of Manitoba, Canada

Dr Gonzalo Butron, University of Cadiz, Spain

Dr Johanna Rainio-Niemi, University of Helsinki, Finland

Dr Kim Christiaens, Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies, Belgium

Dr Atina Nihtinen (2014-2015), Abo Akademi University, Finland



Mr Valentin Wendebourg, University of Goettingen, Germany

Dr Giulia Albanese, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Juan Pablo Domínguez Fernández, University of Navarra, Spain

Ms Laia Portet, Universitat Pompeu i Fabra, Spain